myBLOG “Cradle to Grave” ~ Children Who See Grandparent Ghosts

"Isn't She Lovely" available in 'The Ghost Chaser's Daughter'

“Isn’t She Lovely” available in ‘The Ghost Chaser’s Daughter’

FOLLOW THIS BLOG! And . . .  The Ghost Chaser’s Daughter 
╰☆╮☆♥*¨*• 💕💕 •*¨* ♥ ☆╰☆╮💕💕

FOLLOW THIS BLOG! And . . .  The Ghost Chaser’s Daughter 
╰☆╮☆♥*¨*• 💕💕 •*¨* ♥ ☆╰☆╮💕💕 •*¨* ♥ ☆╰☆╮

Because the first apparition I ever saw was that of my grandfather I have naturally searched for stories like mine, in which a child’s first encounter with the paranormal world is sighting a grandparent.

I was six when the ghost of my grandfather began making visits. The incident is detailed in my set of short stories, ‘The Ghost Chaser’s Daughter’.  Grandpa Jimmy had died on the way home from work in the wee hours of Christmas morning.  In 1956 railroad crossings were not required to *¨* ♥ ☆╰☆╮

Because the first apparition I ever saw was that of my grandfather I have naturally searched for stories like mine, in which a child’s first encounter with the paranormal world is sighting a grandparent.

I was six when the ghost of my grandfather began making visits. The incident is detailed in my set of short stories, ‘The Ghost Chaser’s Daughter’.  Grandpa Jimmy had died on the way home from work in the wee hours of Christmas morning.  In 1956 railroad crossings were not required to have flashing lights, cross-bars that came down, or any other protective equipment that came between the speeding locomotives of southern Ohio and automobiles. Family gossip years later told of his jawbone being found 500 feet up the rails from the point of impact.

It’s not unusual for the victim of a sudden death to stay attached to earth; and my grandfather was no exception. I presume that as he drove through the snow toward the Belfast, Ohio farmhouse that he shared with my grandmother in the 1950s that his thoughts were on celebrating Christmas and being ‘around’ for many more years.

I soon came to realize that a lot of grandparents ‘come back’ to check on their grandchildren. One story that was told to me was that of a young mother whose father had died just days prior to the birth of a little granddaughter.  The family’s hope was that the patriarch would live until the newest member of the family could be presented to him.  But, it seemed, that was not to be – until the most unusual occurrence happened:

You see, the patriarch had the custom of smoking a certain very fragrant pipe tobacco. The first afternoon home from the hospital the young mother put her baby to bed and laid down for a nap in her room down the hall. A deep sleep came over the mother within minutes.  She awoke from her deep sleep to the fragrance of her father’s pipe tobacco permeating the house.  It disoriented her because the smell was so distinctly tied to her father, now four days dead.

Although the house was quiet, and the baby sleeping, the mother crept into the nursery, tracking the familiar fragrance.  There, leaning over the crib, was her father as clear as day. No ‘see through’ apparition – it was him!  He straightened when his daughter entered the nursery and murmured the words, “Isn’t she lovely?” before leaving this earth, never to be seen again.

I have heard other stories in which a beloved grandchild will herald the death of a grandparent in the dead of night and without the benefit of phone calls, telegrams, or anything other than the bonds of affection and understanding between one generation and another – most recently from my friend Nicki Chen (of NickiChenwrites).  Nicki’s husband, Eugene, foretold his own grandmother’s death and Nicki’s telling of the event is quite remarkable.

But why this link between the youngest generation of a family, and the oldest?  I looked to Nicole Leader for an explanation of this phenomenon. Ms. Leader has done extensive research on the topic of children who see ghosts.  She says, when children are born, [they, themselves] have just crossed over from the “other side” [and] are close to others from that realm.  Therefore [a child] can more easily see [those who cross over] . . . into this existence to visit that child, or protect them.

My own grandson, as a four-year old, began to independently ask about my mortality. He wanted to know where I would ‘be’; how the family would find each other again after I died. We’ve picked out a star, and that is where we will all meet, I told him; but his question confirmed my own belief – cradle to grave – grandchild to grandparent — if he wants to see me after I’m dead, he most probably will.

Are there stories in your own family in which a grandchild seems to have a connection to a grandparent who is on ‘the other side’? Or; the story of a grandchild correctly predicting the death of their grandparent? If so, join the discussion.

2 Comments

Filed under Books by Emily Hill, emily hill, ghost adventures, ghost hunter, ghost stories, ghosts

2 responses to “myBLOG “Cradle to Grave” ~ Children Who See Grandparent Ghosts

  1. My husband and his family were living in Japan the night his beloved grandmother died. She was living in Taiwan. In the middle of the night, he woke up and ran to his parents bedroom. “Grandmother is dead,” he told them.

    “Go back to sleep,” his mother said. “Grandmother is fine.”
    “No,” he insisted. “She died, just moments ago.”
    The next morning they received a telegram. His grandmother had indeed died during the night.

    • Nicki,

      Thank you for stopping by to fill the followers of myBLOG: ‘The Ghost Chaser’s Daughter’ in on the remarkable events in the life of your husband, Eugene. I remembered the story that you told some time ago, and knew instantly that it was a vignette that I wanted to include in my piece about the spiritual, heart-link between some grandchildren and their grandparents.

      It sounds like Eugene was very fortunate to have had such a devoted grandmother.

      I’m so appreciative of your interest in my comments. ~Emily

Leave a Reply

